Fifth Dutch Gravitational Wave meeting

C0.110, C1.112 (Amsterdam)

C0.110, C1.112


Science Park 904
Chris Broeck, Van den, Gemma Janssen, Gijs Nelemans, Jason Hessels
Gravitational wave research in the Netherlands has matured with the active involvement of Dutch scientists in the first GW discovery. We organise the fifth Dutch National GW meeting, in order to bring together astronomers and physicists interested in gravitational wave science and inform each other of developments and new projects. The meeting will be held on Wednesday, March 2th 2016, in Amsterdam.

The day will start with a keynote lecture by David Reitze (director LIGO) on The first results of the LIGO Gravitational Wave detector. In addition, there will be overview talks on general topics/experiments as well as contributed talks on specific projects, particularly for students and post-docs.

The meeting is open to all interested researchers, also from outside the Netherlands. Please register below and contact us by e-mail to submit an abstract.

Preliminary programme

 10:30 coffee/tea
11:00 The First Observation of a Binary Black Hole Merger Through the Detection of Gravitational Waves by LIGO: Dave Reitze
12:00 40 years of PSR B1913+16 timing: Joel Weisberg
12:30 lunch
13:30 session 1 (talks 12+3 min)
* Testing GR with GW150914: Michalis Agathos
* When will we measure with 3 gravitational wave detectors? When with 4?: Joris van Heijningen
* Adanced Virgo phase camera: Laura van der Schaaf
* A New Channel for the Formation of Binary Black Holes: Selma de Mink
* FRBs: Jason Hessels
* EPTA update: Gemma Janssen
15:00 coffee/tea
15:30 session 2 (talks 12+3 min)
* EM follow-up of GW150914: Samaya Nissanke
* Low latency electromagnetic follow-up of compact binary mergers detected via gravitational waves: Antinia Rowlinson
* LISA Pathfinder: Sterl Phinney
* EMRIs: Jan-Willem van Holten
* Modelling small mass ratio binaries using self-force: a status report: Maarten van de Meent
*  Prospects in detecting cosmic strings with eLISA in the SKA era: Sotiris Sanidas
17:00 end/drinks
  • Alessandro Patruno
  • Amruta Jaodand
  • Ann-Sofie Nielsen
  • Anna Bilous
  • Anne Archibald
  • Antonia Rowlinson
  • Bert Vercnocke
  • Boris Boom
  • Caroline D'Angelo
  • Cees Bassa
  • Chris Van Den Broeck
  • Daniel Baumann
  • Dario Carbone
  • Davide Lena
  • Edward van den Heuvel
  • Elena Maria Rossi
  • Emmanouil (Manos) Zapartas
  • Ercan Kilicarslan
  • Gemma Janssen
  • Gijs Nelemans
  • Giuseppe d'Ambrosi
  • Govert Schilling
  • Hara Papathanassiou
  • Huib Henrichs
  • Jan-Willem van Holten
  • Janna Goldstein
  • Jason Hessels
  • Jean in 't Zand
  • Jeroen Meidam
  • Jesus M Corral-Santana
  • joel weisberg
  • Joeri van Leeuwen
  • John Heise
  • Joris van Heijningen
  • Kaitlin Nadson
  • Kazuhiro Agatsuma
  • Klim Mikhailov
  • Laura Van der Schaaf
  • Leon Oostrum
  • Lopez Kristhell
  • Lucien Kuiper
  • Maarten van de Meent
  • Manuel Torres
  • Maria Bader
  • Marieke Baan
  • marieke postma
  • Mark Kuiack
  • Michalis Agathos
  • Monika Moscibrodzka
  • Paul Demorest
  • Peter Jonker
  • Priscilla Canizares
  • Rachel SIMONI
  • Ralph Wijers
  • Reinier Jonker
  • Reinier Suurenbroek
  • Rob Timmermans
  • Rudolf Le Poole
  • Samaya Nissanke
  • Samayra Straal
  • Saravanan Saravanan
  • Satish Kumar Saravanan
  • Serena Repetto
  • Shaon Ghosh
  • Sotirios Sanidas
  • stan bentvelsen
  • Sterl Phinney
  • Steven Bloemen
  • Thomas Riley
  • Valeriya Korol
  • Vlad Kondratiev
  • Yoshinta Setyawati
  • Yvette Cendes
Submit an title/abstract
The agenda of this meeting is empty